To be successful, you cannot stay comfortable

These words really resonated with me the other day.  I was ready a different blog, and in passing they said something similar; those words sparked something.  This is why it is hard to do awesome things.  You have to do uncomfortable things to get there.  Now I don’t mean something gross, or unacceptable I mean literally you just don’t want to.  Feel likes being the whiney child.  You know that feeling when you need to do your taxes.  You would rather avoid it like the plague (or at least those are my feelings.)

I want to go to Puerto Rico this fall.  I really want to.  Yet I am no closer to accomplishing that then I was a month ago when it first came up.  Why?  I would have to work on my budget.  Maybe sacrifice some other things to make it happen.  That is not fun, and so it is uncomfortable.  but what is the payoff?  Puerto Rico for a week?  Seems work it to me, yet I have not done a single thing to get there.

I have decided I am ready to switch careers.  The career I am considering (and already working on) is not stable, and it all depends on me.  I will be my own boss.  How scary!  How freeing.  Right now I am taking a class about it, so I have some accountability.  But I will only truly be beholden to myself so I better come up with a plan on how to move forward!

Life should not be comfortable for too long.  It is ok to take time to enjoy what you have, but if you want to grow and become more you have to do things that are uncomfortable.

It is time to get out there and just do it!

Leave a Reply

